City Directories and History: “Trenton is a small town located seven miles below Edgefield and named in honor of the railroad industry in 1870. William H. Johnston was a native of Trenton,
New Jersey. In the mid-1700’s a crossroads near Trenton was used as an Indian trail. Then, about 1780, the Piney Wood’s Tavern and the Pine House were built by Captain Van Swearingen. After his stop in Augusta, Georgia, President George Washington stopped for breakfast on May 21, 1791, at the Piney Woods Tavern. Ezekiel McClendon, the Innkeeper and son-in-law of Captain Van Swearingen, greeted the President early that morning. From the 1780’s until 1870, the Pine House was the post office name for the present-day Trenton area.”
Information from: Names in South Carolina by C.H. Neuffer, Published by the S.C. Dept. of English, USC
Stay connected – “Explore architecture, history & stories…” – R&R’s email subscription, “From The Porch” see the home page sign up block. Add rootsandrecall@gmail.com to your approved email address list, to insure delivery and R&R’s facebook sites, From the Porch and R&R’s Facebook.
User comments welcome – post at the bottom of this page.

