Known Catawba Leaders

King Whitmanntanghekee- 1717 King Tom Sapona- 1720 King Istcountgonita-1721 King Yanabe Yahangway-170 King George Hagler- 1750 Colonel Ayers- 1763 King Frow-1766 General New year-1779 General Jacob Scott- 1804 General William Harris- 1837 General James Kegg- 1838 Chief Samuel Scott- 1839 Chief William Morrison- 1844 Tom Steven- Have no date listed. Reports say he froze to death at the age of 110 in a snow storm on his way to Van Wyke. He was refused safe refuge in a barn until the storm passed by a local farmer. Chief Allen Harris-1851

Chief John Scott- 1868

Chief Thomas Morrison-1887 Chief James Harris-1888 Chief Robert (Bob) Harris- 1895 Chief Lewis Gordon- 1897 Chief William (Billy Bowlegs) Harris- 1904 Chief David (Toad) Harris- 1906 Chief John Brown- 1923 Chief- John Harris- 1928 Chief Samuel T. Blue- 1931 Chief Robert Lee Harris-1939 Chief Ervin George-1940 Chief Samuel T. Blue- 1941 Chief Dougals Harris- 1946 (He served for only a few months) Chief Raymond Harris- 1946 **Chief Nelson Blue-1950** Chief Ephraim D. George- 1952 Chief John Idle Sanders- 1954 Chief Samuel T. Blue-1956 Chief Nelson Blue-1958 (Served only a few months.) Chief Albert H. Sanders, Sr.-1958- The Tribe lost Federal Recognition during his term due to the Termanation Act.) Chief Gilbert Blue1973-2004- (During his term the Tribe regained Federal Recognition in 1993) Chief Evans M. (Buck) George-2004 (Served as Asst. Chief during the Blue Administration-1973-2004. Served as Chief during the transitional period after Blue resigned in 2004 before the new elections.) Chief Donald Rogers-2004-2011 Chief Bill Harris- 2011-

Marine Carlos Alerra - Sara