{"id":168,"date":"2015-01-26T19:08:01","date_gmt":"2015-01-26T19:08:01","guid":{"rendered":"http:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/?post_type=buildings&#038;p=168"},"modified":"2023-02-09T20:48:15","modified_gmt":"2023-02-09T20:48:15","slug":"williamsburg-courthouse","status":"publish","type":"buildings","link":"https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/buildings\/williamsburg-courthouse\/","title":{"rendered":"Williamsburg County Court House \/ KINGSTREE HISTORIC DISTRICT"},"content":{"rendered":"<p><em><span style=\"color: #76232f;\"><strong>&#8220;As handsome a court house building found throughout the state.&#8221;<\/strong><\/span><\/em><\/p>\n<p><strong>125 West Main Street<\/strong><\/p>\n<p><span style=\"text-decoration: underline;\"><strong>City Directories and History:<\/strong><\/span>\u00a0ca. 1823. Designed by the noted architect Robert Mills, the courthouse was constructed ca. 1823 at a cost of $10,000.00.\u00a0The building has been continually used as a public courthouse since its construction.\u00a0In 1883, the second story burned but damage was minor and repairs were completed within\u00a0a year. In 1953-1954, wings were added to the rear of the courthouse and exterior remodeling was undertaken which included the addition of an exterior staircase and the\u00a0removal of facade details.<\/p>\n<p style=\"text-align: center;\">The Rock Hill Herald on Jan. 7, 1886 reported &#8211; &#8220;The house of Rev. T.E. James, a Methodist minister living near Hinton&#8217;s in Williamsburg Co., was burned with all it&#8217;s contents.&#8221;<\/p>\n<p style=\"text-align: center;\"><em>The Yorkville Enquirer reported on Feb. 27, 1889 &#8211; &#8220;The County Courthouse at Kingstree was burned last Friday.\u00a0 The building was lost but the county records were saved. The courthouse was in the business section, and it was feared that the Coleman house and several stores might be lost, but the fire was successfully contained to the courthouse.&#8221;<\/em><\/p>\n<p>The courthouse is a fine example of Roman Classicism with its raised first floor,\u00a0pediment with lunette, and Doric columns. The main story has a central doorway\u00a0flanked by four windows. The entablature once featured triglyphs and metopes but\u00a0these were removed in the 1954 remodeling. Although the courthouse has been altered,\u00a0it still reflects much of Mills&#8217;s original design. The courthouse grounds contain a<br \/>\nConfederate monument erected 10 May 1910 by the Williamsburg Chapter U.D.C. and citizens of the county. (SCDAH)<\/p>\n<p style=\"text-align: center;\"><span style=\"color: #76232f;\">&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;&#8212;-<\/span><\/p>\n<p>The Kingstree Historic District contains forty-eight properties situated along Main Street, Academy Street, and Hampton Street in the commercial area of downtown Kingstree (including the Courthouse). The district includes the courthouse, public library, railroad station, and numerous commercial buildings. The district is a fine collection of nineteenth-century vernacular commercial architecture. Details such as arched doorways and windows, cast-iron columns and pilasters, decorative or corbelled brick work and pressed tin interior ceilings are present on most of the district\u2019s buildings. The Williamsburg County\u00a0Courthouse, built ca. 1823, and designed by Robert Mills, is a fine example of Roman Neo-Classical design with its raised first floor, pediment with lunette, and Doric columns. In 1953-54 the courthouse underwent substantial remodeling on the exterior and interior,<\/p>\n<div id=\"attachment_2654\" style=\"width: 224px\" class=\"wp-caption alignright\"><a href=\"https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/buildings\/mills-map-of-williamsburg-county-ca-1825\/?hilite=%22robert+mills%22\"><img loading=\"lazy\" decoding=\"async\" aria-describedby=\"caption-attachment-2654\" class=\"size-medium wp-image-2654\" src=\"https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/01\/HISTORY-THREAD-BG-214x300.jpg\" alt=\"\" width=\"214\" height=\"300\" srcset=\"https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/01\/HISTORY-THREAD-BG-214x300.jpg 214w, https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/01\/HISTORY-THREAD-BG.jpg 360w\" sizes=\"auto, (max-width: 214px) 100vw, 214px\" \/><\/a><p id=\"caption-attachment-2654\" class=\"wp-caption-text\">R&amp;R HISTORY LINK: Mill&#8217;s 1820s Map of Williamsburg County<\/p><\/div>\n<p>though it still reflects much of Mill\u2019s original design. With the exception of the courthouse, most of the buildings in the district were built between 1900 and 1920 when Kingstree\u00a0enjoyed prosperity as a retail and tobacco marketing center of Williamsburg County. The majority of the buildings in the district are a visible record of this twenty-year growth and the historic fabric of the area remains substantially intact. Listed in the National Register June 28, 1982.<\/p>\n<p>[Courtesy of the SC Dept. of Archives and History]<\/p>\n<p>View a map showing the <span style=\"color: #76232f;\"><a style=\"color: #76232f;\" href=\"http:\/\/www.palmettohistory.org\/nrdwilliamsburg.htm\">boundaries<\/a><\/span> of the Kingstree Historic District.<\/p>\n<hr \/>\n<p>Between 1732 and 1736 a colony of Ulster Scots settled on a bluff on the north side of Black River. At a spot several hundred feet back from the bank grew an unusually tall white pine tree of the kind reserved for the king in royal grants and used for making masts for British ships. This settlement, first called Williamsburgh, was referred to as being at the King\u2019s tree and later came to be called Kingstree. Boddie locates it as lot number one on a plot made August 28, 1737.<\/p>\n<p>(Information from: <em>Names in South Carolina<\/em> by C.H. Neuffer, Published by the S.C. Dept. of English, USC)<\/p>\n<hr \/>\n<p style=\"text-align: center;\"><span style=\"color: #76232f;\">Stay Connected<\/span><\/p>\n<p><em>Explore history, houses, and stories across S.C.<\/em> Your membership provides you with updates on regional topics, information on historic research, preservation, and monthly feature articles. But remember R&amp;R wants to hear from you and assist in preserving your own family genealogy and memorabilia.<\/p>\n<p>Visit the <em>Southern Queries \u2013 Forum<\/em> to receive assistance in answering questions, discuss genealogy, and enjoy exploring preservation topics with other members. Also listed are several history and genealogical researchers for hire.<\/p>\n<hr \/>\n<p>User <span style=\"color: #76232f;\">comments<\/span> welcome \u2014 post at the bottom of this page.<\/p>\n<div id=\"attachment_2724\" style=\"width: 224px\" class=\"wp-caption alignright\"><a href=\"https:\/\/npgallery.nps.gov\/pdfhost\/docs\/nrhp\/text\/82003906.PDF\"><img loading=\"lazy\" decoding=\"async\" aria-describedby=\"caption-attachment-2724\" class=\"size-medium wp-image-2724\" src=\"https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/01\/HISTORY-THREAD-60-214x300.jpg\" alt=\"\" width=\"214\" height=\"300\" srcset=\"https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/01\/HISTORY-THREAD-60-214x300.jpg 214w, https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/01\/HISTORY-THREAD-60-768x1075.jpg 768w, https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/01\/HISTORY-THREAD-60-731x1024.jpg 731w, https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/01\/HISTORY-THREAD-60-600x840.jpg 600w, https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/01\/HISTORY-THREAD-60.jpg 900w\" sizes=\"auto, (max-width: 214px) 100vw, 214px\" \/><\/a><p id=\"caption-attachment-2724\" class=\"wp-caption-text\">R&amp;RHISTORY LINK: NR NOMINATION &#8211; TEXT<\/p><\/div>\n<div id=\"attachment_2723\" style=\"width: 224px\" class=\"wp-caption alignright\"><img loading=\"lazy\" decoding=\"async\" aria-describedby=\"caption-attachment-2723\" class=\"size-medium wp-image-2723\" src=\"https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/12\/HISTORY-THREAD-60-214x300.jpg\" alt=\"\" width=\"214\" height=\"300\" srcset=\"https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/12\/HISTORY-THREAD-60-214x300.jpg 214w, https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/12\/HISTORY-THREAD-60-768x1075.jpg 768w, https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/12\/HISTORY-THREAD-60-731x1024.jpg 731w, https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/12\/HISTORY-THREAD-60-600x840.jpg 600w, https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/12\/HISTORY-THREAD-60.jpg 900w\" sizes=\"auto, (max-width: 214px) 100vw, 214px\" \/><p id=\"caption-attachment-2723\" class=\"wp-caption-text\">R&amp;R HISTORY LINK: NATIONAL REGISTER &#8211; IMAGE(S) &#8220;Kingstree Hist District&#8221;<\/p><\/div>\n<p>View the complete text of the nomination form for this National Register property. In addition, the Historic Resources of Kingstree, ca. 1823-1930 includes historical background information for this and other related National Register properties.<\/p>\n<p><em>Please enjoy this structure and all those listed in Roots and Recall. But remember each is private property. So view them from a distance or from a public area such as the sidewalk or public road.<\/em><\/p>\n<div>\n<p><em>Do you have information to share and preserve? Family, school, church, or other older photos and stories are welcome. Send them digitally through the &#8220;Share Your Story&#8221; link, so they too might be posted on Roots and Recall.<br \/>\n<\/em><\/p>\n<p><em>Thanks!<\/em><\/p>\n<p><span style=\"color: #76232f;\">IMAGE GALLERY via photographer Bill Segars &#8211; 2007<\/span><\/p>\n\n\t\t<style>\n\t\t\t#gallery-1 {\n\t\t\t\tmargin: auto;\n\t\t\t}\n\t\t\t#gallery-1 .gallery-item {\n\t\t\t\tfloat: left;\n\t\t\t\tmargin-top: 10px;\n\t\t\t\ttext-align: center;\n\t\t\t\twidth: 33%;\n\t\t\t}\n\t\t\t#gallery-1 img {\n\t\t\t\tborder: 2px solid #cfcfcf;\n\t\t\t}\n\t\t\t#gallery-1 .gallery-caption {\n\t\t\t\tmargin-left: 0;\n\t\t\t}\n\t\t\t\/* see gallery_shortcode() in wp-includes\/media.php *\/\n\t\t<\/style>\n\t\t<div id='gallery-1' class='gallery galleryid-168 gallery-columns-3 gallery-size-medium'><dl class='gallery-item'>\n\t\t\t<dt class='gallery-icon landscape'>\n\t\t\t\t<a href='https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/buildings\/williamsburg-courthouse\/williamsburg-county-courthouse-6\/'><img loading=\"lazy\" decoding=\"async\" width=\"300\" height=\"200\" src=\"https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/01\/court-807-021-300x200.jpg\" class=\"attachment-medium size-medium\" alt=\"\" srcset=\"https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/01\/court-807-021-300x200.jpg 300w, https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/01\/court-807-021-340x227.jpg 340w, https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/01\/court-807-021.jpg 600w\" sizes=\"auto, (max-width: 300px) 100vw, 300px\" \/><\/a>\n\t\t\t<\/dt><\/dl><dl class='gallery-item'>\n\t\t\t<dt class='gallery-icon landscape'>\n\t\t\t\t<a href='https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/buildings\/williamsburg-courthouse\/williamsburg-county-courthouse-7\/'><img loading=\"lazy\" decoding=\"async\" width=\"300\" height=\"200\" src=\"https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/01\/court-807-036-300x200.jpg\" class=\"attachment-medium size-medium\" alt=\"\" srcset=\"https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/01\/court-807-036-300x200.jpg 300w, https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/01\/court-807-036-340x227.jpg 340w, https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/01\/court-807-036.jpg 600w\" sizes=\"auto, (max-width: 300px) 100vw, 300px\" \/><\/a>\n\t\t\t<\/dt><\/dl><dl class='gallery-item'>\n\t\t\t<dt class='gallery-icon portrait'>\n\t\t\t\t<a href='https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/buildings\/williamsburg-courthouse\/williamsburg-county-courthouse-8\/'><img loading=\"lazy\" decoding=\"async\" width=\"200\" height=\"300\" src=\"https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/01\/court-807-038-200x300.jpg\" class=\"attachment-medium size-medium\" alt=\"\" srcset=\"https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/01\/court-807-038-200x300.jpg 200w, https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/01\/court-807-038.jpg 400w\" sizes=\"auto, (max-width: 200px) 100vw, 200px\" \/><\/a>\n\t\t\t<\/dt><\/dl><br style=\"clear: both\" \/><dl class='gallery-item'>\n\t\t\t<dt class='gallery-icon landscape'>\n\t\t\t\t<a href='https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/buildings\/williamsburg-courthouse\/williamsburg-county-courthouse-9\/'><img loading=\"lazy\" decoding=\"async\" width=\"300\" height=\"200\" src=\"https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/01\/court-807-039-300x200.jpg\" class=\"attachment-medium size-medium\" alt=\"\" srcset=\"https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/01\/court-807-039-300x200.jpg 300w, https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/01\/court-807-039-340x227.jpg 340w, https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/01\/court-807-039.jpg 600w\" sizes=\"auto, (max-width: 300px) 100vw, 300px\" \/><\/a>\n\t\t\t<\/dt><\/dl><dl class='gallery-item'>\n\t\t\t<dt class='gallery-icon portrait'>\n\t\t\t\t<a href='https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/buildings\/williamsburg-courthouse\/williamsburg-county-courthouse-11\/'><img loading=\"lazy\" decoding=\"async\" width=\"200\" height=\"300\" src=\"https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/01\/court-807-045-200x300.jpg\" class=\"attachment-medium size-medium\" alt=\"\" srcset=\"https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/01\/court-807-045-200x300.jpg 200w, https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/01\/court-807-045.jpg 400w\" sizes=\"auto, (max-width: 200px) 100vw, 200px\" \/><\/a>\n\t\t\t<\/dt><\/dl><dl class='gallery-item'>\n\t\t\t<dt class='gallery-icon portrait'>\n\t\t\t\t<a href='https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/buildings\/williamsburg-courthouse\/williamsburg-county-courthouse-12\/'><img loading=\"lazy\" decoding=\"async\" width=\"200\" height=\"300\" src=\"https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/01\/court-807-047-200x300.jpg\" class=\"attachment-medium size-medium\" alt=\"\" srcset=\"https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/01\/court-807-047-200x300.jpg 200w, https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/files\/2015\/01\/court-807-047.jpg 400w\" sizes=\"auto, (max-width: 200px) 100vw, 200px\" \/><\/a>\n\t\t\t<\/dt><\/dl><br style=\"clear: both\" \/>\n\t\t<\/div>\n\n<\/div>\n","protected":false},"excerpt":{"rendered":"<p>&#8220;As handsome a court house building found throughout the state.&#8221; 125 West Main Street City Directories and History:\u00a0ca. 1823. Designed by the noted architect Robert Mills, the courthouse was constructed ca. 1823 at a cost of $10,000.00.\u00a0The building has been continually used as a public courthouse since its construction.\u00a0In 1883, the second story burned but&#8230; <\/p>\n<p><a href=\"https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/buildings\/williamsburg-courthouse\/\">Read More ><\/a><\/p>\n","protected":false},"author":1,"featured_media":0,"parent":0,"menu_order":0,"comment_status":"open","ping_status":"closed","template":"","categories":[68,74,377],"tags":[109,108,746],"class_list":["post-168","buildings","type-buildings","status-publish","category-feature","category-kingstree","category-west-main-street","tag-court-house","tag-courthouse","tag-robert-mills","entry"],"acf":[],"_links":{"self":[{"href":"https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/buildings\/168","targetHints":{"allow":["GET"]}}],"collection":[{"href":"https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/buildings"}],"about":[{"href":"https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/types\/buildings"}],"author":[{"embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/users\/1"}],"replies":[{"embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/comments?post=168"}],"version-history":[{"count":0,"href":"https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/buildings\/168\/revisions"}],"wp:attachment":[{"href":"https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/media?parent=168"}],"wp:term":[{"taxonomy":"category","embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/categories?post=168"},{"taxonomy":"post_tag","embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/www.rootsandrecall.com\/williamsburg\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/tags?post=168"}],"curies":[{"name":"wp","href":"https:\/\/api.w.org\/{rel}","templated":true}]}}